• Русский
  • 中国
  • English (UK)

Universal Structure Predictor:
Evolutionary Xtallography

USPEX是什么?

USPEX(即Universal Structure Predictor: Evolutionary Xtallography,俄语中“uspekh”的意思是“成功” - 暗示这种方法成功率高,并且可以产出许多有用的结果)是Oganov实验室从 2004 年以来开发的一种晶体结构预测方法和程序。 晶体结构预测问题也由来已久,而且一直是理论晶体化学的重要核心问题 1988年,约翰·马多克斯(John Maddox)写道:

“很久以来,晶体结构预测问题都是物理学界的一个耻辱,已知化学成分进行晶体结构预测基本是不可能的,即使诸如水(冰)这么简单成分的固体结构也超出了凡人的理解力。”

USPEX解决了这个问题,仅需给定材料的化学成分,就可以预测该材料体系在任意压力-温度条件下的潜在晶体结构。 目前为止,全世界有超过6000名的研究人员正在使用它。 在第一次无机晶体结构预测的盲测中,USPEX 的效率和可靠性都超过了其他方法。 该方法将继续快速地发展。

除了一般的三维晶体结构预测之外,USPEX 还可以应用在低维结构的预测中,比如零维的纳米粒子、一维的聚合物、二维的表面、界面和二维晶体。 它可以高效的处理分子晶体(包括柔性分子和复杂分子)。 而且,它可以仅凭化学元素预测最稳定材料的化学组分和对应的晶体结构。 除了这种完全非经验的搜索之外,USPEX 还可以预测一系列亚稳结构,基于一些已知的信息进行各种模拟和预测。

USPEX还可以用于发现低能量的亚稳相,纳米颗粒的稳定结构,表面重建,有机晶体中的分子堆积,还可以搜索具有目标的物理性质(力学性质、电子性质等)的材料结构。 USPEX 程序不仅包含基于 Oganov 研究组开发的高效进化算法,还包含其他一些算法(如随机采样、赝动力学、校正的粒子群优化算法等)。 USPEX建立了许多从头算法代码的接口,例如VASP,SIESTA,GULP,Quantum Espresso,CP2K,CASTEP,LAMMPS 等。

最近,我们团队(位于 SkoltechMIPT)与 分布式计算中心(基于 IITP RAS)和应用优化部门(基于 FRC CSC RAS )启动了公民科学项目 USPEX@home。 我们邀请大家通过共享您的计算资源来帮助我们开发新材料。

USPEX的测试: MgSiO3的后钙钛矿是含有40个原子的晶胞。 左--使用随机结构的局部优化进行结构搜索,右--使用USPEX进行进化搜索。 尽管经过120000步,随机搜索也无法产生正确的结构,但USPEX却在不到1000步的范围内找到了稳定的结构。

分析和可视化

USPEX的输出可以通过许多代码进行可视化,例如VESTA。 USPEX还能够以pdf格式生成许多图形,从而快速了解结果。 此外,我们强烈建议使用由Mario Valle编写的STM4代码,其与USPEX完全兼容。

代码的特点

  1. 仅凭化学成分即可预测稳定和亚稳的结构。 同时搜索稳定的组成物和结构也是可能的。
  2. 可以合并部分结构信息
    1. 可以在搜索时对结构进行限制,利用已知信息或实验得到的晶格常数、形状或者体积对结构进行限制,
    2. 从已知或假设的结构开始结构搜索,
    3. 从预先定义的分子(包括柔性分子)组装晶体结构.
  3. 高效的结构限制技术,可以避免搜索没有物理意义或重复的搜索空间。 细胞削减技术 (Oganov & Glass, 2008).
  4. 采用指纹函数对结构进行标记和识别 (Oganov & Valle, 2009; Lyakhov, Oganov, Valle, 2010).
  5. 采用完全随机化的方法对结构进行初始化,或采用空间群限制、晶胞分割技术 (Lyakhov, Oganov, Valle, 2010).
  6. 实时分析结果-确定空间群(并以CIF格式输出),计算硬度,序参数等。
  7. 纳米粒子结构和表面重建的预测。
  1. 重启计算的功能,用户可以从结构演化轨迹的任意点重新开始计算。
  2. 在 STM4(由M.Valle编写)中实现的功能强大的可视化和分析,它与 USPEX 完全集成。
  3. USPEX 提供与 VASP、SIESTA、GULP、DMACRYS、CP2k、QuantumEspresso、LAMMPS、ATK、MOPAC、FHI-aims、Gaussian 等程序的接口。 开发与其他程序的接口非常容易。
  4. 可以将作业提交到本地服务器或者远程集群超算服务器。
  5. USPEX 除了包含独特的算法之外,还包含随机采样、校正的粒子群优化(PSO)方法、进化算法赝动力学、最低能量跳跃。 使用进化算法赝动力学、变晶胞 NEB 方法、TPS 方法进行相变机理预测。
  6. 可以优化能量以外的物理性质,例如硬度(Lyakhov & Oganov,2011),密度(Zhu等人,2011),带隙和介电常数(Zeng等人,2014)等其他很多性质。
  7. 还有许多新功能正在开发中,敬请期待...

用户成果亮点

戊唑酸钠: 一种富氮高能量密度材料

B.A. Steele and I.I. Oleynik (2016). Sodium pentazolate: A nitrogen rich high energy density material. Chemical Physics Letters 643, 21-26. (link).

南佛罗里达大学的研究人员利用强大的晶体结构搜索方法USPEX发现了一种新的高能量密度材料戊唑酸钠。 在高于20 GPa的压力下,戊唑阴离子会被钠阳离子稳定在凝聚相中,释放压力后变为亚稳态。

一种潜在能量转化催化剂结构的计算线索

Ye-Fei Li and Annabella Selloni (2014). Mosaic Texture and Double c-Axis Periodicity of β-NiOOH: Insights from First-Principles and Genetic Algorithm Calculations. The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters 5(22), 3981–3985. (link).

普林斯顿大学Annabella Selloni 领导的研究小组利用USPEX深入了解了铁掺杂氧化镍(一种高活性的水氧化催化剂)的活性成分结构。 根据USPEX搜索的结果结合DFT计算,Li和Selloni能够识别出稳定的氧化镍隧道结构,可以解释在反应过程中观察到形成的镶嵌纹理。 研究人员希望对材料的结构有更好的了解,从而希望进一步确定其在反应中的活性。



用Sc或Ta预测Al的新相

Bilić, A., Gale, J. D., Gibson, M. A., Wilson, N., & McGregor, K. (2015). Prediction of novel alloy phases of Al with Sc or Ta. Scientific Reports, 5, 9909 (link).

研究了Al与Sc或Ta的热力学稳定的二元合金相。 正确评估了已知稳定的Al-Sc金属间化合物(Al3S,Al2Sc,AlSc,AlSc2和AlSc3)和Al3Ta的成分、晶体结构和形成焓。 另外,以前未知的新型相Al3Sc2和AlTa7已被确定为稳定的。



新型氢化硫H3S及其在高压下的令人兴奋的超导性

Defang Duan, Yunxian Liu, Fubo Tian, Da Li, Xiaoli Huang, Zhonglong Zhao, Hongyu Yu, Bingbing Liu, Wenjing Tian & Tian Cui (2014). Pressure-induced metallization of dense (H2S)2H2 with high-Tc superconductivity. Scientific Reports 4, 6968 (link).
Defang Duan, Xiaoli Huang, Fubo Tian, Da Li, Hongyu Yu, Yunxian Liu, Yanbin Ma, Bingbing Liu, and Tian Cui (2015). Pressure-induced decomposition of solid hydrogen sulfide. Phys. Rev. B 91(18), 180502 (link).

通过USPEX在理论上预测了一种在大气压下几乎不会出现的新型氢化硫H3S,它是通过以下两种主要方式在高压下形成的:3H2S→2H3S + S,S + 3 / 2H2→H3S。 值得注意的是,在200 GPa下,Im-3m相H3S的Tc估值达到191〜204 K的极高值。 它设置记录了此刻的超导温度。 高超导转变温度Tc=203K的实验发现和高压H-S系统中的同步加速器XRD实验证明了理论上的预测结果。

USPEX当前的局限性

由于该方法的成功率很高,因此我们在实践中没有看到很多限制。 对于每晶胞 100-200 原子的体系仍然十分高效。 大体系的主要问题是第一原理计算量随着体系原子数增多大大增加,同时能量稳定点数也快速增加。 我们的算法似乎在抵消这种影响方面非常有效,并在不久的将来能够对包含数百个原子的系统进行结构预测。

成为USPEX的用户

请在我们的网页上注册。

注册

与其他方法的对比

为与其他计算材料设计技术进行比较,我们的方法经过多次测试。 下面我们提供了针对不同大小Lennard-Jones簇的USPEX(进化算法),CALYPSO(PSO法)和最低能量跳跃法的性能结果(来自Lyakhov等人,2013)。

成功率 (%) 直到找到全局最小值的平均结构数 计算数量
LJ38 (PSO) 100 605 100
LJ38 (USPEX) 100 35 183
LJ38 (MH) 100 1190 100
LJ38 (PSO) 100 1649 20
LJ55 (PSO) 100 159 100
LJ55 (USPEX) 100 11 60
LJ55 (MH) 100 190 100
LJ75 (PSO) 98 2858 50
LJ75 (USPEX) 100 2145 53

采用相同的力场描述(数据来自Lyakhov等人,2013年针对USPEX,以及Lv等人,2012年),使用USPEX(进化算法)和CALYPSO(PSO法)对具有48个原子/晶胞TiO2进行计算,。

方法 成功率 (%) 弛豫次数
USPEX, cell spliting 100 41
USPEX, no symmetry 100 80
USPEX, with symmetry 100 77
CALYPSO, with symmetry 100 156-400
CALYPSO, no symmetry 90 500

详细描述该方法的参考文献

  1. Oganov A.R., Glass C.W. (2006).
    Crystal structure prediction using evolutionary algorithms: principles and applications.
    J. Chem. Phys. 124, art. 244704 (pdf-file)
  2. Glass C.W., Oganov A.R., Hansen N. (2006).
    USPEX – evolutionary crystal structure prediction.
    Comp. Phys. Comm. 175, 713-720 (pdf-file)
  3. Oganov A.R., Ma Y., Lyakhov A.O., Valle M., Gatti C. (2010).
    Evolutionary crystal structure prediction as a method for the discovery of minerals and materials.
    Rev. Mineral. Geochem. 71, 271-298 (pdf-file)
  4. Lyakhov A.O., Oganov A.R., Valle M. (2010).
    How to predict very large and complex crystal structures.
    Comp. Phys. Comm. 181, 1623-1632 (pdf-file)
  1. Oganov A.R., Lyakhov A.O., Valle M. (2011).
    How evolutionary crystal structure prediction works - and why.
    Acc. Chem. Res. 44, 227-237 (pdf-file)
  2. Lyakhov A.O., Oganov A.R., Stokes H.T., Zhu Q. (2013).
    New developments in evolutionary structure prediction algorithm USPEX.
    Comp. Phys. Comm. 184, 1172-1182 (pdf-file)
  3. Niu H.N, Niu S., Oganov A.R. (2019).Simple and accurate model of fracture
    toughness of solids. J. Appl. Phys. 125, 065105 (pdf-file)

开发者

从2005年开发以来,USPEX被证明是可以预测晶体结构的强大工具。 越来越多的研究人员正在使用我们的代码。 该代码主要由Oganov教授的研究团队开发完成。 开发人员的数量也在稳步增长。 以下是参与开发USPEX的人员列表:

  • Artem R. Oganov
  • Zahed Allahyari
  • Pavel Bushlanov
  • Artem Samtsevich
  • Eugene Tikhonov
  • Vladimir Baturin
  • Ivan Kruglov
  • Sergey Lepeshkin
  • Efim Mazhnik
  • Arslan Mazitov
  • Sergey Pozdnyakov
  • Zhenhai Wang


以下是USPEX的前开发人员列表:

  • Andriy Lyakhov
  • Colin W. Glass
  • Harold T. Stokes
  • Qiang Zhu
  • Guangrui Qian
  • Xiao Dong
  • Miguel Salvado, Pilar Pertierra, Qingfeng Zeng, Zamaan Raza, Ravi Agarwal

USPEX的合作伙伴

CP2K
Quantum ESPRESSO
LAMMPS
QuantumWise
Tinker

Universal Structure Predictor:
Evolutionary Xtallography

What is USPEX?

USPEX (Universal Structure Predictor: Evolutionary Xtallography...and in Russian "uspekh" means "success" - owing to the high success rate and many useful results produced by this method) is a method developed by the Oganov laboratory since 2004. The problem of crystal structure prediction is very old and does, in fact, constitute the central problem of theoretical crystal chemistry. In 1988 John Maddox wrote that:

"One of the continuing scandals in the physical sciences is that it remains in general impossible to predict the structure of even the simplest crystalline solids from a knowledge of their chemical composition solids such as crystalline water (ice) are still thought to lie beyond mortals' ken".

USPEX method/code solves this problem and is used by over 3000 researchers worldwide. The First Blind Test of Inorganic Crystal Structure Prediction shows that USPEX outperforms other methods in terms of efficiency and reliability. The method continues to be rapidly developed. In addition to crystal structure prediction, USPEX can work in other dimensionalities and predict the structure of nanoparticles, polymers, surfaces, interfaces and 2D-crystals. It can very efficiently handle molecular crystals (including those with flexible and very complex molecules) and can predict stable chemical compositions and corresponding crystal structures, given just the names of the chemical elements. In addition to this fully non-empirical search, USPEX allows one to predict also a large set of robust metastable structures and perform several types of simulations using various degrees of prior knowledge.

USPEX can also be used for finding low-energy metastable phases, as well as stable structures of nanoparticles, surface reconstructions, molecular packings in organic crystals, and for searching for materials with desired physical (mechanical, electronic) properties. The USPEX code is based on an efficient evolutionary algorithm developed by A.R. Oganov's group, but also has options for using alternative methods (random sampling, metadynamics, corrected particle swarm optimization algorithms). USPEX is interfaced with many ab initio codes, such as VASP, SIESTA, GULP, Quantum Espresso, CP2K, CASTEP, LAMMPS, and so on.

Test of USPEX: 40-atom cell of MgSiO3 post-perovskite. Left - structure search using local optimisation of random structures, Right - evolutionary search with USPEX. While random search did not produce the correct structure even after 120000 steps, USPEX found the stable structure in fewer than 1000 steps.

Analysis and visualization

Output of USPEX can be visualised by many codes, e.g. VESTA. USPEX also produces a number of figures in the pdf-format, allowing quick insight into the results. In addition, we highly recommend the STM4 code, which was written by Mario Valle to be fully compatible with USPEX.

Features of the code

  1. Prediction of the stable and metastable structures knowing only the chemical composition. Simultaneous searches for stable compositions and structures are also possible.
  2. Incorporation of partial structural information is possible
    1. constraining search to fixed experimental cell parameters, or fixed cell shape, or fixed cell volume,
    2. starting structure search from known or hypothetical structures,
    3. assembling crystal structures from predefined molecules, including flexible molecules.
  3. Efficient constraint techniques, which eliminate unphysical and redundant regions of the search space. Cell reduction technique (Oganov & Glass, 2008).
  4. Niching using fingerprint functions (Oganov & Valle, 2009; Lyakhov, Oganov, Valle, 2010).
  5. Initialization using fully random approach, or using space groups and cell splitting techniques (Lyakhov, Oganov, Valle, 2010).
  6. On-the-flight analysis of results - determination of space groups (and output in CIF-format), calculation of the hardness, order parameters, etc.
  7. Prediction of the structure of nanoparticles and surface reconstructions.
  1. Restart facilities, enabling calculations to be continued from any point along the evolutionary trajectory.
  2. Powerful visualization and analysis techniques implemented in the STM4 code (by M.Valle), fully interfaced with USPEX.
  3. USPEX is interfaced with VASP, SIESTA, GULP, DMACRYS, CP2k, QuantumEspresso, LAMMPS, ATK, MOPAC, FHI-aims, Gaussian codes. Interfacing with other codes is easy.
  4. Submission of jobs from local workstation to remote clusters and supercomputers is possible.
  5. Options for structure prediction using the USPEX algorithm (default), random sampling, corrected particle swarm optimization, evolutionary metadynamics, minima hopping-like algorithm. Capabilities to predict phase transition mechanisms using evolutionary metadynamics, variable-cell NEB method, and TSP method.
  6. Options to optimize physical properties other than the energy - e.g., hardness (Lyakhov & Oganov, 2011), density (Zhu et al., 2011), band gap and dielectric constant (Zeng et al., 2014), and many other properties.
  7. Many new features are now in progress. to be described later...

Highlights of users' results

Sodium Pentazolate: a Nitrogen Rich High Energy Density Material

B.A. Steele and I.I. Oleynik (2016). Sodium pentazolate: A nitrogen rich high energy density material. Chemical Physics Letters 643, 21-26. (link).

Sodium pentazolate, a new high energy density material was discovered by researchers from University of South Florida using USPEX, the powerful crystal structure search method. The pentazole anion is stabilized in the condensed phase by sodium cations at pressures exceeding 20 GPa, and becomes metastable upon release of pressure.

Computational clues into the structure of a promising energy conversion catalyst

Ye-Fei Li and Annabella Selloni (2014). Mosaic Texture and Double c-Axis Periodicity of β-NiOOH: Insights from First-Principles and Genetic Algorithm Calculations. The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters 5(22), 3981–3985. (link).

A research team led by Annabella Selloni, at Princeton University, employed USPEX to obtain insight into the structure of an active component of iron-doped nickel oxide, a highly active catalyst for water oxidation. Based on the results of USPEX searches in combination with DFT calculations, Li and Selloni were able to identify stable tunnel structures of nickel oxide that can explain the observed mosaic texture that forms during reaction. Armed with a better understanding of the material’s structure, the researchers hope to further map out its activity in the reaction.



Prediction of novel phases of Al with Sc or Ta

Bilić, A., Gale, J. D., Gibson, M. A., Wilson, N., & McGregor, K. (2015). Prediction of novel alloy phases of Al with Sc or Ta. Scientific Reports, 5, 9909 (link).

Thermodynamically stable binary alloy phases of Al with Sc or Ta have been investigated. The composition, crystal structures and formation enthalpies of the known stable Al-Sc intermetallics (Al3S, Al2Sc, AlSc, AlSc2 and AlSc3) have been correctly evaluated, as well as that of Al3Ta. In addition, novel phases Al3Sc2 and AlTa7, previously unknown, have been identified as stable.



New sulfur hydride H3S and its exciting superconductivity under high pressures

Defang Duan, Yunxian Liu, Fubo Tian, Da Li, Xiaoli Huang, Zhonglong Zhao, Hongyu Yu, Bingbing Liu, Wenjing Tian & Tian Cui (2014). Pressure-induced metallization of dense (H2S)2H2 with high-Tc superconductivity. Scientific Reports 4, 6968 (link).
Defang Duan, Xiaoli Huang, Fubo Tian, Da Li, Hongyu Yu, Yunxian Liu, Yanbin Ma, Bingbing Liu, and Tian Cui (2015). Pressure-induced decomposition of solid hydrogen sulfide. Phys. Rev. B 91(18), 180502 (link).

A new sulfur hydride H3S that hardly occurs at atmospheric pressure was theoretical predicted through USPEX code to be formed at high pressure by two main ways: 3H2S→2H3S+S,2H2S+H2→2H3S. Remarkably, the estimated Tc of Im-3m phase for H3S at 200 GPa achieves a very high value of 191~204 K, which sets a record of superconducting temperature. The experimental discovery of superconductivity with a high Tc=203 K and synchrotron XRD experiment in H-S system at high pressure have verified the theoretically predicted results.

Current limitations of USPEX

Because of the high success rate of the method, we have not seen many limitations in practice. It is efficient for systems with up to 100-200 atoms/cell. Difficulties for large systems are due to the increasing cost of ab initio calculations for increasing system sizes, and also due to the rapidly increasing number of energy minima. Our algorithm seems to be very effective in counteracting this effect and will make structure prediction for systems containing many hundreds of atoms affordable in near future.

Becoming a user of USPEX

Please register in our webpage.

Download

comparison with other methods

Our method was tested several times for comparison with other computational materials design techniques. Below we provide results for the performance of USPEX (evolutionary algorithm), CALYPSO (PSO method), and minima hopping method for Lennard-Jones clusters of different sizes (from Lyakhov et al., 2013).

Success rate (%) Average number of structures until global minima is found Number of calculations
LJ38 (PSO) 100 605 100
LJ38 (USPEX) 100 35 183
LJ38 (MH) 100 1190 100
LJ38 (PSO) 100 1649 20
LJ55 (PSO) 100 159 100
LJ55 (USPEX) 100 11 60
LJ55 (MH) 100 190 100
LJ75 (PSO) 98 2858 50
LJ75 (USPEX) 100 2145 53

Performance of USPEX (evolutionary algorithm) and CALYPSO (PSO method) for TiO2 with 48 atoms/cell, described by the same forcefield (data from Lyakhov et al., 2013 for USPEX and from Lv et al., 2012).

Method Success rate (%) Number of relaxations
USPEX, cell spliting 100 41
USPEX, no symmetry 100 80
USPEX, with symmetry 100 77
CALYPSO, with symmetry 100 156-400
CALYPSO, no symmetry 90 500

References, where the method was exhaustively described

  1. Oganov A.R., Glass C.W. (2006).
    Crystal structure prediction using evolutionary algorithms: principles and applications.
    J. Chem. Phys. 124, art. 244704 (pdf-file)
  2. Glass C.W., Oganov A.R., Hansen N. (2006).
    USPEX – evolutionary crystal structure prediction.
    Comp. Phys. Comm. 175, 713-720 (pdf-file)
  3. Oganov A.R., Ma Y., Lyakhov A.O., Valle M., Gatti C. (2010).
    Evolutionary crystal structure prediction as a method for the discovery of minerals and materials.
    Rev. Mineral. Geochem. 71, 271-298 (pdf-file)
  1. Lyakhov A.O., Oganov A.R., Valle M. (2010).
    How to predict very large and complex crystal structures.
    Comp. Phys. Comm. 181, 1623-1632 (pdf-file)
  2. Oganov A.R., Lyakhov A.O., Valle M. (2011).
    How evolutionary crystal structure prediction works - and why.
    Acc. Chem. Res. 44, 227-237 (pdf-file)
  3. Lyakhov A.O., Oganov A.R., Stokes H.T., Zhu Q. (2013).
    New developments in evolutionary structure prediction algorithm USPEX.
    Comp. Phys. Comm. 184, 1172-1182 (pdf-file)

Developers

From its initial development in 2005, USPEX proved to be a powerful tool for crystal structure prediction. An increasing number of researchers are using our code. The code is developed mainly by Prof Oganov's research group. The developers circle is also steadily increasing. Here are the list of people paticipating in developing USPEX:

  • Sergey Lepeshkin (MIPT)
  • Zahed Allahyari (MIPT)
  • Miguel Salvado, Pilar Pertierra, Qingfeng Zeng, Zamaan Raza, Ravi Agarwal

USPEX works together with

CP2K
Quantum ESPRESSO
LAMMPS
QuantumWise
Tinker